book review

Nights in the Fast Lane

Ooh, a contemporary, romantic comedy. It’s been a while since one of these was submitted for review, so I was pretty excited when Grace Risata sent me Nights in the Fast Lane. I went in with high hopes that were completely fulfilled when I turned the last page.

51L74UI7DYL

Heat Level:♥♥♥♥♥

Overall Rating: 6/6 Glass Slippers

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Main character Izzy is basically all of us. Izzy doesn’t keep her New Years resolutions, her dog is her baby, and she uses the term “book boyfriend”. Like, hello, how relatable is that? Anyway, a hunky construction worker she calls “Brick Wall” comes to her rescue when a mouthy jerk gets too handsy.

Who is “Brick Wall”? Only Dane, a street racer who is a bit of trouble, causing him to lay low in Izzy’s small town in Iowa. He gets fired from his job for helping Izzy and would be sleeping on the streets in the middle of winter if Izzy didn’t return the favor and save him.

tumblr_inline_n67zaxQJQi1rf5nvc

Izzy lets Dane crash at her place, when he reveals he has no where else to go. At first I was screaming, “No, Izzy, stranger danger! Haven’t you ever watched Oprah? This is why there’s a whole television channel devoted to murders and missing people, you loon!” But then I was like, “Yeah, girl, you fix him up a nice dinner and revel in that sexual chemistry y’all got goin’ on”. And, when one night turns into something longer, you’re rooting for Dane’s past to stay in the past, she he and Izzy can have a real shot.

tumblr_nlaa7iyS1g1upns2wo1_500

I literally loved this book. I let it move into my house, put its name on the mortgage, and now we’re planning a fall wedding. It’s been a while since I read something that had me laughing from page one. It’s got dick jokes, a dog named Kitty, and some straight up lovin’ that can’t be beat.

image

4 thoughts on “Nights in the Fast Lane”

Leave a comment