Above the Flames

There is a battle brewing and it is likely to take you off guard. However, there is a plus side…book 2 is out! Above the Flames is book 1 and book 2 is Surrounded by Flames. Both are by Cassandra Fear and Surrounded By Flames is out today, so get ready to get your binge on!

Jasmine Reynolds has this ability to conjure blue flames that she discovers on her 16th birthday. But who cares? She continues to live her life as normal until she turns 18, when all chaos breaks loose after an earthquake releases the demons. Yes, I said demons. As it turns out, that battle I mentioned earlier is between demons and angels. Well, she was not prepared for this and she is captured.

But don’t fear! There is someone out to save her. Well, okay, he isn’t necessarily out to save her. Amon wants to get back into God’s good graces, as he is a fallen angel. What better way than to rescue the beautiful girl with the power to make all the difference?

As you may have guessed, Amon is gorgeous and Jasmine noticed. Hell, everyone has noticed. But they can’t run off and make eyes at each other because they’re still in the middle of a war. So, do they have the power to take a stand, or will they succumb to, not only their emotions, but also to their circumstances? Sometimes, you’ve fallen too far to come back.

66FallenAngelsAreDemons

One of the things that I liked about this book was it seemed real. Okay, Sarah have you lost your mind? How can the book be real? Stay with me here. The characters had the angst and attitude of characters of their ages. Jasmine was 18. She was filled with frustration, and had a vulnerability about her that sometimes shifted to the confidence of a woman with the sexuality of a lady. I love this age group because  I think watching them come into their own is one of my favorite parts of these books. Well, that and Jasmine was feisty and hysterical. I loved reading her.

This is a great book, but fyi, there is a good amount of violence. This book is about a war, so the violence should be assumed, but I’m just putting that out there in case you missed it. It’s an older young adult novel, but I thought it was enjoyable anyway.

With book 2 coming out tomorrow, I am so excited. Don’t bother me! I will be in a reading nook with my kindle and a nervous tickle in my stomach because I can’t wait to see what happens!

img_2823

Be sure to check out First Semester. It is my college Romance and it’s available now on Amazon. Click Here

One thought on “Above the Flames

Leave a Reply

