Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them-No Spoilers 

I am a diehard Harry Potter fan. I’ve been to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter and I’ve been the chosen one who gets to have a wand pick them.

mv5bmjmxotm1oti4mv5bml5banbnxkftztgwode5otyxmdi-_v1_sy1000_cr006741000_al_

6/6 Glass Slippers

So when I saw J.K. Rowling was coming out with more movies, I fangirled out and purchased a ticket to the first showing. I’ll be doing two posts, one talking about the movie with no spoilers, and a second post for those of you who want to discuss it.

First, I love Eddie Redmayne. I thought he was amazing in Les Miserable and The Theory of Everything. But I was a little concerned about how he’d fit into the wizarding world. After seeing the movie, I have to say he was perfect. His character was completely different than roles he has played before and it still suited him perfectly. Plus, his hair was fabulous.

The rest of the cast, including Colin Farrell and Ezra Miller, were great and perfectly suited for their roles.

When you go into the theater, you need to prepare yourself for one thing. You’re going to laugh. The people around you will laugh. There may even be someone who snorts. Don’t be alarmed, this is perfectly normal as the movie is hysterical.

All in all, the beasts that Newt takes care of were wonderfully animated and he actually interacts with them. I never doubted that they were real and frankly, there are a few I’d like to take home.

One of the things I liked most about the movie was that a whole new culture was created. There are new words, new spells, new laws, a new ministry, and a whole new way of living. This world is as creative as the one across the pond through Platform 9 3/4.

This was a great extension of the world that Rowling created but it is by no means another Harry Potter movie. Do not go in expecting that. There are references to the series, but it is separate. Most importantly, it takes place in the twenties, and who doesn’t love a good speak easy?

The movie is just over two hours so it isn’t as long as the Potter series. However, it was by no means lacking in twists, turns, drama, and destructive chase scenes.

I loved the movie and I can’t wait to see the next one. That’s right…there will be more.

After you’ve seen the movie, look at my second post so that we can talk specifics!

NEWNEWNEW

One thought on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them-No Spoilers 

Leave a Reply

