Interview With Suzan Tisdale

Y’all, I’m fan girling over here. Suzan Tisdale, an award winning author of more than a dozen historical romance novels. Since I’m currently on a journey to publishing my own historical romance series, I basically want to be Suzan when I grow up. She was kind enough to take time out of her writing and touring schedule to answer a few questions.

Did you have any authors that you looked up to when you began your journey into writing?

I’ve been writing since childhood. However, I discovered Historical Romance in 2010 when my husband gave me my first Kindle as a birthday present. That is when I discovered Laurin Wittig and Carmen Caine! Laurin was the biggest influence for me in writing in this genre.

You’ve had great success in the literary world of historical romance.Would you ever consider writing a contemporary piece?

I actually have a contemporary mystery series that I want to write, along with a couple of stand alones!

What is it about clans and men in kilts that inspire your romances?

It’s the whole package! The sense of honor and duty is probably the biggest part for me.

tumblr_neqta9dfXx1rvecw0o1_500

understandable

How do you deal with writer’s block?

I’ve only had writer’s block once. I just had to wait for the voices to explain what they wanted from me.

How much research do you usually do for each book, or is writing history just second nature, now?

It depends on the book. Most of my Scottish historical research I can use from one book to the next. However, for The King’s Courtesan, I had to do more research than I’ve ever done. Hours and hours of research. It was set in Italy in the 1600’s.

51bbltv3zel

Out of all of your books, which one is your personal favorite?  

Frederick’s Queen for many reasons. Mostly because the main characters, Frederick and Aggie, were modeled after my Uncle Fred and Aunt Aggie. I have to clarify that nothing that happened to the fictional Aggie ever happened to the real life Aggie! She was raised in a very loving home. I used her name and her characteristics of strength.

51pqzqwxacl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Sometimes I look at my work and think, ‘I can’t believe I wrote something so terrible!’ When you were first starting out, did you sometimes second-guess your work? Do you still?

All the time and with every book! I think that is what makes a good writer. We want to write the best possible book.

What’s an average day of writing like for you?

4 -6 hours of writing each and every day. The rest of the day is spent on the ‘business’ end of things, such as formatting, talking to cover artists, social media, etc.

Do you have a writing crutch, like coffee or a certain snack food, or maybe music, you like to have on hand?

Hello, my name is Suzan and I’m addicted to coffee! 😀 I have to have complete silence when writing. Occasionally, during a battle scene, I might have some intense classical music playing in the background.

anigif_enhanced-30201-1400116435-15

What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

Spend time with my family and my grand babies!

Besides you own, what books do you love to read?

Oh my goodness! That would take a day to answer. I love to read Scottish Historical Romance as well as Regency and Georgian. I also love mysteries!

Do you have any advice for new authors, or those embarking on their writing journeys?

I get asked for advice all the time. The only thing I can tell a new or aspiring author is this: Write the damned book. Nothing else can happen until you have the book written. After that, gird your loins. This business is not for the weak of heart.

54832a9f56382_-_gclph8d

Suzan is very active on all of her social media sites, as I learned when I reached out to her.

You can visit her website HERE

You can friend her on Facebook HERE

You can add her on Twitter HERE

And, most importantly, you can shop for her books HERE and immerse yourself in some Sottish romance that will have you begging for the return of the kilt in every man’s wardrobe.

If you would like to be featured with an author interview, have us review your book, or want us to try and rate your product, visit our contact page HERE.

kelsey2

One thought on “Interview With Suzan Tisdale

Leave a Reply

