Nurse Blood

Well I have a book for you that I never saw coming. It is called Nurse Blood and is by Rebecca Besser.

 

513tpkgi37l-_sx311_bo1204203200_

Genre: Thriller/ Horror

Heat: ♥♥♥♥

Overall Rating 4/6 Glass Slippers

Sonya is a nurse who uses her skills in a way that makes her lethal. She is part of a harvest team. However, they don’t just harvest organs, they harvest skin, blood, bones, the brain…anything that they can sell on the black market. She has a good reason for doing it but mostly she likes the violence.

David’s twin brother has been missing for two years and no one knows what happened to him. No body was found and no one has heard from him. However, David is AN FBI agent determined to find out. As he begins to search through missing person reports, a pattern begins to emerge in front of him. That mixed with a little luck and he realizes that it’s possible his brother was taken by a group of people harvesting bodies.

Sonya, along with her crew, realize that the FBI are hot on their trail and are determined to finish one more job. They intend to harvest a family (including children) because there is a chance they have AB blood, the most valuable and lucrative blood type. Will they pull of the score of their lives? Will they kill each other in the process? Or maybe the FBI will put a stop to their spree once and for all

tumblr_inline_nmbdgxFAcl1rrrkde.gif

I did not see this book coming. Sonya is actually insane. She is violent and is willing to do whatever it takes to make the job, that would be the harvesting job not the nurse job, successful. That includes luring men into her seductive trap and bring them to their death. I don’t think I have ever read a character like her before and I have to say it was fascinating. Besser really goes into Sonya’s mind and we understand her. It almost makes it okay that she wants to kill some children.

However, I don’t like it when you mess with kids. Leave them alone so that bothered me.

The next thing that bothered me was that I didn’t think David was a very good investigator. He seemed to just get very lucky a lot. I’m a big fan of books with law enforcement elements but I like it when they deduce things instead of walk into them. I would have liked a little more Sherlock Holmes.

I also was got a little confused with the multiple point of view. At some points it seemed like God must have been narrating because I was clued into several characters’ inner monologues all at once. I haven’t read a book like this before so it took a little getting used to.

On the other hand, the group dynamics of the harvest team were hysterical. I loved watching them all play out and fight for dominance. Even though they are very much criminals, you felt the need to root for them. All of a sudden you find yourself hoping they can work the harvest out! I had to take a reading break when I realized I was rooting for the stone cold killers but Besser set them up in such a way that you subconsciously need it to work out for them.

This book does have a lot of sex in it and trust me when I say that it isn’t lovey dovey. This is a book filled with sex for need, dominance, and pure lust. Not to mention the couple times Sonya uses it to get her way. Leave your feelings at the door because they really aren’t allowed in the bedroom in this book.

There is something to be said for a story being told from the villain’s point of view. This definitely made this book unique and a lot of fun to read. I don’t know a whole lot about the medical world but it seemed like Besser did a lot of research and knew what she was talking about. This helped with the believability of the book and certainly added to my enjoyment. Looking for a book that breaks just about every mold out there and is filled with twists and turns, then I would recommend this book.

NEWNEWNEW

3 thoughts on “Nurse Blood

Leave a Reply

