Interview with Ian Peters from BoyzNite

BLURB:

 

Law school wonder student Ian Peters chronicles his first night home for the summer in Piedmont, Washington. What starts with a pleasant drive up the Pacific Northwest Coast leads him into a night of self discovery, contemplative self-assessment, and ultimately the question of what kind of man does he want to be? Along the way, he reconnects with friends, family, and an old flame who changes his world forever.

What started as a typical night of partying quickly becomes BoyzNite.

 

Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Kobo/iTunes/Indigo

Smashwords/Goodreads

 

About Xane J. Fisher:

 

Originally from the Salt Lake City area, Xane Fisher has spent most of his life living out of a backpack or suitcase. Along his travels, he has been blessed with an amazing family, a college education, and the opportunity to see the world from the skyscrapers of Abu-Dhabi to the third world markets of Angola. From a young age, he has felt compelled to write and share experiences through a pen or keyboard. He is currently living in southwest Germany, serving in the United States Air Force with his wife Autumn and their son Judah. He hopes to have his first novel completed soon.

WEBISTE/FACEBOOK/GOODREADS

 

 

Character Interview about Ian:

 

I see you played baseball as a child, what position did you play?

Wow, Umm..first base? I mean it was the 90’s they had us rotate everywhere to get a feel for where we were best suited. In the off season I liked to play first or third base. Second always got me really anxious. Anything to get that participation trophy ya know?

Why did you stop?   

Honestly because I wasn’t good enough for a scholarship? I mean why does anyone quit playing sports as a kid? I had interests in other places, the cost was higher than my dad was willing to pay and it just kind of fell out of “coolness” in our neighborhood.

Why did you decide to be a lawyer? 

I was good at it? I mean I love a good debate, and the drive to help people was always there. Something about the prestige of defending people in court or putting bad guys away appealed to my inner child I guess. Look when you go to college, despite what your teachers and the internet will tell you…if you want to make money you have to find a way for your passions to pay your bills. For me it was law. I was never cool enough in college to be a party kid, and I didn’t have a huge identity crisis like some people do. 

What kind of law do you want to study? 

Hahaha. Well that’s the clinch now isn’t it? What we think we want, and what we really need are rarely the same thing. That being said, I’m considering public defending back in Piedmont. The high paying lifestyle of a California private lawyer doesn’t seem to fit me. Especially after that night we partied. I really think I could do more good at home then out there.

What did you major in in college?

It’s boring and kind of embarrassing actually. Psychology. Pretty average or normal for most kids, and its not a slight against that field at all. At the time I thought I wanted to become a counselor or a social worker but during my sophomore year I got disillusioned with the prospect of failing a patient. Instead I finished strong but started to focus on the law instead. 

Why do you know the Twilight story? Are you secretly an Edward Cullen fan?

Twilight? Because I’ve endured a shopping trip to Hot Topic in the last decade. Also I read the first book on a REALLY long GreyHound ride home from a music festival my Freshman year. It was wedged between two seats and I was sick of staring out the window. I figured the worst that could happen is I’d secretly love it. Turns out, it was mediocre and I survived. As for Cullen? Eh, I mean hindsight’s 20/20 right? I’d consider myself Team Edward if I had to join one but to be honest I found him pretty boring. over 100 years old and no backstory? No thanks, I’d rather hang with Louie or Lestat if vampires were my scene.

What is another philosophy you only tell yourself?

Probably the tenants of Buddhism. Life comes in cycles,and I think I can help improve life around me if I apply myself. Boring, I know. But it’s simple. Nature tends to take the easiest route to a goal.

Are you seeing anyone now?

Umm…no? I mean, look I’d like to say I had someone but life is at a cross roads right now. I don’t need to clutter up my life, or anyone else’s right now ya know? That being said, I would like to start seeing women again if any in the area are available and don’t mind take out.

Is there anything you wish you could say to Kristen?

Yeah. OH yeah. Let’s start with “I’m sorry for being an ass that night. If you have time I’d like to catch up…this time sober, and less dramatic for both of us.” To be fair I can’t get her out of my head, but I don’t understand why.

Why do you think you never tried to get into contact with her after she left?

Because we were kids? I mean, how many kids pre-facebook stayed in contact with their friends from middle school? People grow apart, life carries on. You develop layers to your personality that separate you from others. That’s probably why things came to a head like they did.

 

Giveaway:

 

Enter to win a $20 Amazon Gift Card and a Q&A with Xane himself!

Click here to enter the giveaway

OR

Visit Xane J Fisher’s Facebook page or Royal James Publishing’s Facebook page.

NEWNEWNEW

 

2 thoughts on “Interview with Ian Peters from BoyzNite

Leave a Reply

