What’s Left of Me

When Jennifer Loring sent me an advanced reader’s copy of What’s Left of Me, I literally almost peed myself in excitement. Charming, right? Well, I stopped what I was doing to start reading it. But, I digress. This book is the second in the The Firebird Trilogy, the first of which I reviewed several weeks ago. So, if you haven’t read Firebird (book one), then stop ruining your life and go spend a few hours getting lost in some hot Russian hockey drama. Also, if you aren’t already familiar with the first one, there will be some spoilers.

59a4a-whatsleftofme_amazon

Heat Level: ♥♥♥♥♥♥

Overall Rating: 6/6 Glass Slippers

Genre: Suspense/Sports Romance

When we left Alex and Stephanie, it looked as if things were finally settling into place for them, which is why I was almost afraid to read the book. When the first one ends with a happily every after and there’s a second in the series to be read, you can bet your sweet ass some terrible stuff will happen. And terrible stuff did happen. And I loved it.

Anyways, Alex and Stephanie got married, he had a job lined up to be an assistant coach for his old team in Buffalo, and they were expecting a baby. But, things go south pretty fast. Just as they were getting comfortable with parenthood, Alex is hit with an allegation of sexual assault! Since this was during his dark bender months of drugs and alcohol, while he and Stephanie were broken up, he can’t even remember if he was guilty, something that doesn’t sit well with anyone, especially Stephanie.

Stephanie can’t take the pressure of motherhood, her crumbling marriage, the paparazzi breathing down her neck, the judgmental looks from her coworkers, or the new medical issue she finds herself faced with. The addition of some old ghosts might make it so the pair stays separated for good, that is unless Stephanie can use her investigative skills to figure everything out. Or they get divorced and everything is terrible. Read for yourself

right-in-the-feels

This book, as the first one, had me on the edge of my seat. I stayed up until 4am reading because I needed to know what happened to my favorite American/Russian couple, and their new baby. I can not recommend this book enough and implore you to add it to your own collection. You won’t be disappointed. I promise.

image

Leave a Reply

