Interview with Nykki Mills

In preparation for a big giveaway tomorrow, we have decided to interview one of the authors that we have previously reviewed. Nykki Mills wrote Sacrificed, a ya paranormal romance. After the interview, we will include a blurb from her new book Cursed, which will be available for pre-order on July 23rd and on sale on August 2nd. Gina, from Sacrificed, stars in this book.

 

1.What made you decide to start writing?

Richelle Mead. I’d always been an avid reader. It wasn’t until I picked up the Vampire Academy series that I decided to write my own. I LOVE her as an author, she’s very talented, and I LOVE the series, but I was devastated by the ending. So, what started as a little project to make myself feel better turned into a full-blown obsession.

dom-the-little-boy-in-me.gif

2.What is your favorite book?

Obviously, The Vampire Academy will always have a special place at the top of the list but right now, Splintered, by A.G Howard has stolen my heart. If you haven’t read this book, you should. Hahaha.

3. Do you have a day job?

I do. I’m a substitute teacher. It gives me so much flexibility and I love it. Kids are the coolest!

4. Other than writing, what do you do in your spare time?

I spend time with my family, I love to travel, so we try to do as much of that as we can. I love to swim so I try to fit that in wherever I can. I also like to rollerblade because rollerblading is fun!

5. How did you come up with the idea for Sacrificed?

Um, I’ve always been a horror junky. Since I can remember, I’d watch anything that promised a scare.  (At age six I was at the drive-in watching Child’s Play 3, so seriously, as far back as I can remember, lol.)This idea, well I don’t know where the heck it came from. It just kind of was…which is weird because now that you asked about it, there is something behind every-other story that I’ve written except this one and the spin-off series Cursed Souls.

200_s (3)

6. Did you do a lot of research before writing it?

No, I’m totally a pantster. So any research done was done on the fly. I keep meaning to become a plotter but I can’t seem to make the transition, as I never stick to the original idea.

7. Who inspired your characters? Are they based off real people?

Actually, in every other work in progress, my leads seem to be snarky, with sharp tongues. I really just wanted to write someone who was truly kind, and optimistic, so that’s where Kass came from. I’m lucky to know a few people like that, but she wasn’t inspired by anyone.

8. If you could cast Kass, Ian, Gina, Jen, and Chance from actors famous now, who would you pick?

Kass- Danielle Campbell, hands down. She would be an amazing Kass!

                                                            Danielle-Campbell-Originals-Interview.jpg

Ian- Ian has been the hardest by far to cast, but I’m going with Matthew Daddario

                                                           31ea19ba198b4439266171c5ad5f844a

Jen- Skylar Samuels would rock Jen so hard!

                                                           skyler-samuels-jenny-packham-fall-2016-nyfw-2-14-2016-1

Gina- Zoey Deutch would be a kick-butt Gina.

                                                        zoey-deutch-lands-female-lead-in-richard-linklaters-new-movie

Chance- Douglas Booth, can we say ‘oh heck yes’?!

                                                        GYI0062730520

 

9. Do you feel like you wrote yourself, or maybe just part of yourself, into the book?

Haha, not really. Certainly not with Kass, I’m nowhere near that optimistic. Gina on the other hand, there might be a little of me in there with her.

10. You write young adult, do you feel like you connect with teenagers?

I like to think so. I think that as adults we forget how big everything was at that age. I try my hardest to make the characters relatable to young adults. They are facing some very serious issues and influences as they stumble their way into adulthood. I think it’s important to see these things played out from many different perspectives.

11. That being said, Nsync, Backstreet Boys, or One Direction?

Backstreet.

Baaaccckkkkssstrreeetttt.

Nick Carter, ‘nuff said.

*drops the mic*

200_s (2)

12. What book are you reading now or what was the last thing you read?

The last thing I read was The Glittering Court from Richelle Mead. Annd we’ve come full circle. LOL. It’s a great book, in case you were wondering.

13. Who is your favorite author?

I feel like we all know where this is going…

Richelle Mead

A.G. Howard

And I sorta love PC Cast too.

14. Is there anything you would like your fans to know? Any little fun fact about yourself?

Oh boy, I’m terrible about talking about myself. Does that count?

15. What are you working on now? How much of it can you tell me?

Right now I’m working on the sequel to Sacrificed, tentatively titled Deception, trouble seems to find Kass just when she thought her life was going back to normal. And I’m working on the sequel to Cursed, tentatively titled Jinxed, Gina is always finding trouble. Like the might kill someone kind.

tumblr_mulnyxhIby1r03kaso6_250

The line between sanity and sobriety can quickly fade when you can talk to the dead…

Gina Flinn is no stranger to the dark side. She’s been walking the tightrope with death for years. Plagued with abnormal abilities ranging from picking up old memories to reading auras, Gina found herself in a downward spiral into drugs and alcohol.

She’s been clean and sober for a year now, but when she starts seeing the pesky ghost of the old lady down the street, things start to unravel. It’s a minor annoyance until a ghost of a woman in red shows up and starts tormenting Gina with visions of a violent past.

Seeing a side of death that no one should leads Gina straight into Ben Peterson’s path… In an attempt reunite the old lady with her beloved cat, Gina runs into Ben, who is eager to help her. But no one can help her—the woman in red is relentless, which forces Gina to turn back to the comfort of intoxication. She blacks out and wakes up in bed with Ben, only to find herself on the wrong side of the law.

Gina got into a fight with one of her classmates during her blackout, and now the girl is missing…

Gina is the number one suspect, and with her history of substance abuse and erratic behavior, everyone is sure she’s guilty. She knows she’s innocent and it all leads back to the woman in red.

But with the police breathing down her neck, and Ben the only person willing to believe her story, Gina must find a way to prove her innocence or finally accept that maybe she really is… cursed.

4 thoughts on “Interview with Nykki Mills

Leave a Reply

